Upcoming events!


Saturday, October 17th at 7:00 pm (doors at 6:30 pm)

Free in store

The Nest

Kenneth Oppel’s most haunting story yet . . .

She was very blurry, not at all human looking. There were huge dark eyes, and a kind of mane made of light, and when she spoke, I couldn't see a mouth moving, but I felt her words, like a breeze against my face, and I understood her completely.

"We've come because of the baby," she said. "We've come to help."

In this beautiful, menacing novel, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Coraline, an anxious boy becomes convinced that angels will save his sick baby brother. But these are creatures of a very different kind, and their plan for the baby has a twist. Layer by layer, he unravels the truth about his new friends as the time remaining to save his brother ticks down.

With evocative and disquieting illustrations by Caldecott Medal– and Governor General’s Award–winning artist Jon Klassen, The Nest is an unforgettable journey into one boy’s deepest insecurities and darkest fears.

Munro's Price $19.99

Now out in hardcover

Call us to reserve your copy

Orca Book Publishers FALL LAUNCH!

Wednesday, November 4th at 7:30 pm (doors at 7:00 pm)

Free in store

Orca Poster

Orca Book Publishers invites you to join in celebrating seven of this season's best books!

Diane Dakers, author of Bad Business
Kristi Bridgeman, illustrator of A Carnival of Cats
Robin Stevenson, author of The Summer We Saved the Bees
Kari Jones, author of Shimmy
Darren Groth, author of Are You Seeing Me?
Merrie-Ellen Wilcox, author of What's the Buzz? Keeping Bees in Flight.

Meet the authors, enjoy some refreshments & get a book signed! All ages welcome.


Sunday, November 8th at 7:30 pm

McPherson Playhouse, 3 Centennial Square

Tickets available at www.rmts.bc.ca, 250-386-6121 or the box office

Alexander McCall Smith

The incomparable Alexander McCall Smith is coming back to Victoria! He's such a delight--you won't want to miss this evening!

Paul Mercs Concerts is pleased to present Alexander McCall Smith, the beloved bestselling author of The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency Series, 44 Scotland Street & The Sunday Philosophy Club Series. Alexander McCall Smith has written and contributed to more than 100 books, including specialist academic titles, short story collections, and a number of immensely popular children’s books.


Saturday, November 28th at 7:30 pm (doors at 7:00 pm)

Free in store

Through Blood and Sweat

Through Blood and Sweat takes readers on a memorable, thought-provoking 300-kilometre march in the footsteps taken by the soldiers of 1st Canadian Infantry Division in 1943. As part of Operation Husky 2013, a group of Canadians walked this route to honour the memory of the nation’s soldiers who fought in Sicily seventy years earlier and whose sacrifice has been largely forgotten.

On July 30—after twenty gruelling days—the marchers were joined here by almost a thousand Canadians and Italians. All joined to conduct a profoundly emotional ceremony of remembrance that ended with one person standing before each headstone and answering the roll call on that soldier’s behalf.

Mark Zuehlke, author of the award-winning Canadian Battle Series, was one of the Operation Husky 2013 marchers. He uses this arduous and poignant task as a focal point for a contemplative look at the culture of remembrance and the experience of war.

Munro's Price $36.95

Released in hardcover in October

Call us to reserve your copy

Sign up for our email newsletter to learn about future readings and signings.

We are very proud of the wonderful events we have hosted in the past, and we continue to receive wonderful visiting authors on their book tours and speaking engagements. Past events have included Bill Bryson, Mary Lawson, Ian Rankin, Louis de Bernières and Will Ferguson.

Your Cart


Email A Friend

Tell a friend about this product.
Server SSL Certificate