Upcoming events!





LAWRENCE HILL

Wednesday, September 16th at 7:30 pm (doors at 7:00 pm)

Free in store



The Illegal

Like every boy on the mountainous island of Zantoroland, running is all Keita has ever wanted to do. In one of the poorest nations in the world, running means respect. Running means riches--until Keita is targeted for his father’s outspoken political views and discovers he must run for his family’s survival.
He signs on with notorious marathon agent Anton Hamm, but when Keita fails to place among the top finishers in his first race, he escapes into Freedom State--a wealthy island nation that has elected a government bent on deporting the refugees living within its borders in the community of AfricTown. Keita can stay safe only if he keeps moving and eludes Hamm and the officials who would deport him to his own country, where he would face almost certain death.
This is the new underground: a place where tens of thousands of people deemed to be “illegal” live below the radar of the police and government officials. As Keita trains in secret, eluding capture, the stakes keep getting higher. Soon, he is running not only for his life, but for his sister’s life, too.
From the bestselling author of The Book of Negroes comes a compelling story that casts a satirical eye on people who have turned their backs on undocumented refugees, and urges us to consider the plight of the unseen and the forgotten who live among us.


Munro's Price $27.99

Released in Hardcover on September 8th

Call us to reserve your copy




ARLEEN PARÉ

Tuesday, September 29th at 7:30 pm (doors at 7:00 pm)

Free in store



He Leaves His Face in the Funeral Car

Please join us as we launch the new book of poetry from Arleen Paré, the author of last year's Governor General’s Award-winning collection Lake of Two Mountains!

He Leaves His Face in the Funeral Car is elegiac, lyrical, ironic; a series of reflections, recollections; a collection about relationships-to family, clocks, water, trees, ungulates, endings-recognizing that not all relationships are straightforward: a mother's secret false teeth, a teakettle riddled with bullet holes, pears and small knives.

To leave a face in the funeral car is to fall out of time, to fall into history, to ponder the meanings of dust, the quiet records of suicide. This is poetry that covers a broad range, wide and changing, the strangeness of everyday life buoyed by the solace of language, the pleasure of song. Each word in its right place, each poem reflecting beyond surface meaning.


Munro's Price $18.00

Released in Paperback in September

Call us to reserve your copy




MARGARET MacMILLAN Presents the 2015 CBC Massey Lectures

Wednesday, September 30th at 7:00 pm

McPherson Playhouse, 3 Centennial Square

Tickets available at www.cbc.ca/masseys



History's People

In History's People, internationally acclaimed historian Margaret MacMillan gives her own personal selection of figures of the past, women and men, some famous and some little-known, who stand out for her. Some have changed the course of history and even directed the currents of their times. She looks at the concept of leadership through Bismarck and the unification of Germany; William Lyon MacKenzie King and the preservation of the Canadian Federation; Franklin Delano Roosevelt and the bringing of a unified United States into the Second World War. She also notes how leaders can make huge and often destructive mistakes, as in the cases of Hitler, Stalin, and Thatcher. Richard Nixon and Samuel de Champlain are examples of daring risk-takers who stubbornly went their own ways, often in defiance of their own societies. Then there are the dreamers, explorers, and adventurers, individuals like Fanny Parkes and Elizabeth Simcoe who manage to defy or ignore the constraints of their own societies. Finally, there are the observers, such as Babur, the first Mughal emperor of India, and Victor Klemperer, a Holocaust survivor, who kept the notes and diaries that bring the past to life.

History’s People is about the important and complex relationship between biography and history, individuals and their times.


Munro's Price $19.96

Released in hardcover on September 8th

Call us to reserve your copy




KENNETH OPPEL

Saturday, October 17th at 7:00 pm (doors at 6:30 pm)

Free in store



The Nest

Kenneth Oppel’s most haunting story yet . . .

She was very blurry, not at all human looking. There were huge dark eyes, and a kind of mane made of light, and when she spoke, I couldn't see a mouth moving, but I felt her words, like a breeze against my face, and I understood her completely.

"We've come because of the baby," she said. "We've come to help."


In this beautiful, menacing novel, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Coraline, an anxious boy becomes convinced that angels will save his sick baby brother. But these are creatures of a very different kind, and their plan for the baby has a twist. Layer by layer, he unravels the truth about his new friends as the time remaining to save his brother ticks down.

With evocative and disquieting illustrations by Caldecott Medal– and Governor General’s Award–winning artist Jon Klassen, The Nest is an unforgettable journey into one boy’s deepest insecurities and darkest fears.


Munro's Price $19.99

Released in Hardcover on September 29th

Call us to reserve your copy




ALEXANDER McCALL SMITH

Sunday, November 8th at 7:30 pm

McPherson Playhouse, 3 Centennial Square

Tickets available at www.rmts.bc.ca, 250-386-6121 or the box office



Alexander McCall Smith

The incomparable Alexander McCall Smith is coming back to Victoria! He's such a delight--you won't want to miss this evening!

Paul Mercs Concerts is pleased to present Alexander McCall Smith, the beloved bestselling author of The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency Series, 44 Scotland Street & The Sunday Philosophy Club Series. Alexander McCall Smith has written and contributed to more than 100 books, including specialist academic titles, short story collections, and a number of immensely popular children’s books.






Sign up for our email newsletter to learn about future readings and signings.



We are very proud of the wonderful events we have hosted in the past, and we continue to receive wonderful visiting authors on their book tours and speaking engagements. Past events have included Bill Bryson, Mary Lawson, Ian Rankin, Louis de Bernières and Will Ferguson.

Your Cart

Empty

Email A Friend

Tell a friend about this product.
 
 
 
Server SSL Certificate